English language entry requirements and English courses

English language entry requirements

If English is not your first language 

To apply for all undergraduate and postgraduate degrees, you will need to sit an approved test in English if it is not your first language. This might include achieving IELTS (Academic or UKVI) of 6.0 with no less than 5.5 in any band, depending on your course requirements.

In addition, we accept a TOEFL iBT (except Home Edition) score of 72, with minimum band scores of Reading 18, Writing 17, Listening 17, and Speaking 20 for undergraduate (BA, BSc) and most postgraduate degrees.

If you are applying for the International Foundation Diploma in Hospitality and Tourism, you will need UKVI IELTS of 5.0 with no less than 4.5 in any band.

IELTS can be taken from the British Council. Please note that the date of your IELTS award must be within two years of your degree/master’s degree start date.

We also accept the following online tests for entry onto degree-level courses:

  • Language Cert (except online) - a minimum of 'pass' at B2 level
  • IELTS Indicator - minimum scores as above

You can find information about acceptable English language tests and requirements for your country here.

If you are not able to take one of the above tests, please see here for a list of accepted alternative English language tests.

Can I be exempt from taking an English test?

Some countries will have an educational system fully or mostly taught in English, in which case we may not require that you take an English test. Applicants from countries where English is the first language may not need to sit for IELTS, but will require evidence of their language ability.

This is the list of English-speaking countries from which applicants are exempt from undertaking a language test prior to applying for a Student Visa:

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Canada (if education was taught in English)
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Ireland
  • Jamaica
  • New Zealand
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • UK
  • USA
Back to top